• Modified on Sep 17, 2021

You will need a special permit to complete the Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek. The reason behind taking the permit is because you will be going to the areas close to the international borders. The restricted permit also helps to protect the environment and cultural values of the areas. Some other treks route like Manaslu Circuit, Upper Mustang, and Tsum Valley also requires a special permit because it also shares the open border with Tibet. In this article, we will be giving you a primary idea of the permit costs and process to acquire the permit for Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek.

Table of Content

Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek Permit Cost

Kanchenjunga Restricted Area Permit (RAP)

Applying for RAP is complicated and is arranged through a series of applications, guarantees, and letters. The process may take more than two hours, and can only be applied after the arrival of the group. There is no system of advanced reservation, there must be a minimum of two trekkers per group, and all groups must be conducted by a government-authorized guide.

For these reasons, Kanchenjunga has to be arranged as a fully organized trek through a registered trekking agency hiring at least a guide. There are four Village Development Communities (VDC) that are declared restricted. They are:

  • Olangchungola village
  • Lelep village
  • Papung village
  • Yamphuding village.

Kanchenjunga Conservation Area Entry Fee

The conservation area permit is to help preserve the ecosystem of the area and help improve the lives of the local population. During this trek, you need to have a Kanchenjunga Conservation Area entry pass to enter. This conservation is Nepal’s third conservation which was established in 1997. It also falls within the sacred Himalayan landscape, which is being developed by WWF in Nepal.

Do I need a TIMS for Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek?

When you are traveling to a restricted area, a TIMS card is not required in any restricted area in Nepal. But if you are willing to continue your trek to a not-restricted area, then you have to take a TIMS card. 

Where can I get a Permit for Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek?
You can get a national park entry pass by yourself from the Nepal Tourism Board in Kathmandu. But for a restricted area permit, you need to visit the Department of Immigration which is located at Kalikasthan. To get the permit you need a passport and two passport size photographs. If you are going through a travel agency then your guide can get it for you.

Documents required to issue the special permit for Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek

Authorized agencies can employ Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek Permit along with the following documents

  • Online application form
  • Copy of Passport
  • Copy of valid Visa sufficient to cover trekking days
  • Name lists of trekkers
  • Verified Itinerary of trekking
  • Guarantee letter of Agency
  • Agreement with Agency
  • Tax clearance Certificate of Trekking Agency
  • Documents relating to the insurance of the trekkers (foreign nationals) and Nepalese staff accompanying the trekkers.
  • The license was issued by The Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Civil Aviation (MOTCA) to operate a trekking business.
  • A license issued by Nepal Rastra Bank (NRB) supporting exchanging of foreign currencies.
  • The program schedule of trekking.
  • Registration Certificate of Permanent Account Number
  • Voucher of Bank payment (fees) for permits
Basanta Lamsal

Basanta Lamsal

Basanta is the author who inspires and motivates his readers with enthusiasm and dedication. He works as a travel writer and editor for The Himalayan Odyssey. He covers the various topics of Nepal with his clean and visually appealing writing — rich and descriptive —he lures his readers in. Full of travel tips, and amazing writing his articles appeared sound advice and consistent content.

He is doing a Master in Tourism and Hospitality from Tribhuvwan University which also helps him to write excellent travel content. He loves to do trekking and also has a great eye for photography.

Definitely worth following on Instagram and Facebook.